The Promise of Rohini

 

Shaheed Sukhdev College of Business Studies is undoubtedly one of India’s finest undergraduate management colleges. SSCBS has, in a short span of 30 years, established a long-standing legacy for itself and being a part of this institute, I couldn’t have asked for more.

The only thing that I was skeptical about was the tiny campus in one relatively unknown area of my city. For a few of my college mates, shifting to the new campus may not be that exciting because they feel homely in the old campus, but for me walking into the enchanting white eight storied building feels like a new beginning. I can feel the same excitement and nervousness again that I experienced when I first entered college. I feel fortunate enough to be able to experience the best of both the campuses. Also, after one year into college what excites me the most is the fact that the ones who were unaware of my college’s worth (I could make that out from the fake smile and the confused look on their face whenever I used to say “uncle mein Shaheed Sukhdev mein padti hu”) would definitely ask me its location and my reply Jhilmil would make them feel sorry for me as if Jhilmil defines my life’ current state of not being in a good college despite scoring well in my Class12th board examinations. Now when I say the big white building near Adventure Island in Rohini, it lightens up their face even though they still don’t know much about my college but they have definitely seen the huge campus and this makes them inquisitive to know about my college.

Shifting to Rohini excites me for a few more reasons like finding the new Mathela points near the campus, searching for new hangout spots in the college, it being fully air-conditioned, large canteen and what not! I can also proudly face my peers now and say “ab to campus bhi hai mere pass”.

With this new beginning, I embark on a journey of thousand unheard stories and million new memories.

Simran Sehgal

Leave a Comment!

